Random Thought of the Day 08JUL2011: Writing Again, Yay!

It’s been a few days, hasn’t it?

What?

It’s been two months?  Nah, couldn’t have been.  Really?  It has been?  Hmm…  I guess it has…  Well, for those of you still around, hello again.  🙂  For those who stumbled across my blog on accident or not so by accident, welcome!

I noticed that I’ve had a few months without a writing addition.  Let’s be real, I’ve had a few months since I’ve had an urge to write.  I’m over 80k words into No Way Back and to be honest it started feeling like a chore.  I was writing because I HAD to get it done.  I could feel it.  I was losing the spark of wanting to write.  Writing was something I was doing like it was a job — a job I wasn’t getting paid for.  Chapter 26 was finished and then…  Nothing.  I wasn’t seeing anything anymore.  The quiet whisper of the words and the hidden sights of the actions just weren’t there.  Obviously when you’re writing that’s not a good thing.  I had become obsessed with getting things right that I started losing sight on getting things write.  (Written, but it made sense when I thought it.)  I tried sitting and forcing myself to write.  Write anything.  Write a poem.  Write my thoughts.  Write about being angry over something or another.  I just couldn’t seem to make the words gel.  I can’t describe how much I hated it.

About a week ago, I was talking with a player I know online on World of Warcraft.  They go by the name of Breiz.  We were just BS’ing and chatting when something brought up the topic of science fiction and writing.  I told them that I write, and was asked what I’ve written.  I offered a link, then another, then another, until finally The Princess and the Were was opened, which I know will make little sense because I never posted it here.  I’ll remedy that soon enough.  The comments I received made me start reading through some of the comments I’d received on my writing before.  I never stopped to think how many of the people who’ve read my work actually gave me some sort of praise.  Then something happened.  I wanted to write.  The visualization of events, the sounds of the characters, the strange languages and landscapes and histories all opened up.  I don’t know what the difference is, but in 24 hours, I’d tacked on another 1300 words for Chapter 27.  It felt right.  It seemed like I was supposed to be writing it.  I don’t know what really the change was, but somehow I felt like writing was right again.

I think the issue I was having was actually rather simple: I’d lost sight of my own goals and lost the interest.  It became a grind, not something I was doing because I had fun with it.  But, the comments I’d received in various forms, the feel of the world materializing around me as I wrote just made it worth doing.  So, for those of you who are looking for Chapter 27, thank you for your patience during my hiatus.  Hopefully things will change a bit here.  I can’t say that I’ll be popping out chapters per week, but chapters in general would be great!

As long as this returned happiness with writing stays, that shouldn’t be a problem.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Literature, The Random Thought of the Day

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Random Thought of the Day 08JUL2011: Writing Again, Yay!”

  1. Irene Cortez Says:

    I think you just need to be motivated every now and then to keep your passion for writing alive. Good luck on your book! 🙂

    • The Lone Wulf Says:

      I completely agree with you. Sometimes we all lose motivation to keep doing something and need a push to keep it going.

      And thank you! Knowing me, I’ll need it! 😀


Leave a Reply

