RToD: Sensitive Subjects are Sensitive

I spent about an hour or two writing up another Random Thought today.  It’s pretty well written, touching on a subject that’s a serious one to me: Gun Control.  More specifically, how I truly believe that all the gun control legislation really isn’t hampering crime and, in some ways, actually helps criminals while being based on the flawed logic of “Guns Kill People.”  The thought hit me shortly after the Arizona Representative was shot.  While I felt bad for her, all I could think about is, “Great.  Now all the gun control nuts are going to froth at the mouth about how guns should be taken away from citizens.”  I finally got the urge to write it out and, after having completed it, I think I’m just going to shelve the article.

Why shelve an opinion piece?  Isn’t that self-stifling?  Potentially, yes.  That said, I don’t want to be thrown into the mix of angry speech that comes from it.  My opinion is simple: Gun Control Laws Don’t Work.  Writing more will be just as effective.  Meaning, it won’t.  But, the piece touches on something that I don’t wish on anyone.  (At least not anyone I’ll admit to)  I play first-person shooters.  One of my World of Warcraft characters runs around using a rifle only because I haven’t managed to run across a bow I want to give him.  I’ve also got first-hand training on weapon usage being from the US Navy.  I understand the reality of weapon ownership, as well as the arguments against it.  But, right now, none of that really matters to me.  What DOES matter to me is, I don’t want my blog to be a platform to grandstand for one political idea or another, especially on a topic that’s more sensitive at this very second.  Guns are used all over the world for both good and bad, and the bad people shouldn’t be able to get them, but I don’t want to be the one using tragedy for my own opinion-benefit. 

Sometimes, things really should be controlled in regards to opinion pieces.  Things become so very politically motivated, which is becoming that much more of a sensitive subject for people.  When that happens, emotions get into it, disabling the logical aspect of thought, and the entire conversation falls into arguments where everyone yells and attacks, no one listens, and nothing gets done.  Need an example of that?  Look at our government!  I’m not going to go into detail, but when was the last time things were really done in Government that people really wanted?

Instead, I’m going to write here that my son’s birthday is in two days, while mine is in three.  I’m getting old.  It’s alright, I’m still generally happy.  I’ll get to enjoy my son’s birthday party this year, and that excites me!  I normally wind up working on birthdays, and while I’m still technically working on his birthday, his party I won’t miss.  Speaking of, I have to get into my attic when I get home.

I’ve decided that, after a year and a half (or more?) of hiatus, I’m retiring the mini-series regarding SecondLife.  The truth is, between my son, my lovely misses, my multiple writings, and the entrance of newer, more inclusive games that do not require the constant building of things to be entertained (specifically World of Warcraft, Forza, and the Call of Duty: Modern Warfare series), I’ve simply lost all interest in SL.  The game isn’t bad, but it lacks a goal or purpose except for what you give it.  You can only be excited for so long in that kind of environment unless you’re a constant builder, designer, or what-have-you.  Maybe in the future I’ll look at it again, but right now, I’m too busy gearing up my Night Elf Hunter and my Human Priest in Grizzly Hills, as well as continue to tune my Pontiac Solstice between headshots and three-round-bursts, to be worried about it.  I might, however, do a short work on World of Warcraft with links to characters, screenshots, and information that may introduce a new world to you.

No Way Back and The Dream-Stalkers are currently in a holding pattern.  While this may not be that much of a surprise to some of you, I figured it’s best to admit it to myself as well as you all.  It’s not that I’ve lost the desire to write, it’s more I’ve been so caught up in work, my son, and my games that I’m out of energy.  I’m hoping that writing here again may kick-start the writer’s bug so I can give you the rest of the story.

Last, but certainly not least, I’m looking forward to tomorrow and friday!  Why?  Well, if things go well, I get to do my limited motorcycle riding!  YAY!  Since I still need to replace the fork seals as well as needing brakes, chain, and cogs, my riding has been pared down to a minimum.  One of those minimums is tomorrow!  🙂

Well, I’m out of here for now, people!  Work’s waiting, and I want to get most of it done.  As long as it’s done, I get more free time to write!  Later!

Explore posts in the same categories: My Literature, SecondLife, The Random Thought of the Day, World of Warcraft

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

