One Heavy Wulf – 29 Oct 2010 (And proof that No Way Back isn’t dead…)

First, I’d like to apologize to those who’ve been patiently waiting for Chapter 25.  It’s coming, but has been put on the back burner for a little bit.  More on that after the topic of the day.

20:12.63

Random number?  No.  That’s how long it took me to walk 1.2 miles.  How do I know it’s 1.2 miles?  The distance it is to walk around the building I work at is 0.4 miles.  Three laps is 1.2 miles.  Easy?  Yup.

So, it took me 20 minutes and 12.63 seconds to make those three laps.  And that is only at that number because I jogged for a total of 30 seconds!  It would also be lower if I hadn’t elected to take the one “pit stop” that I have permitted myself as I re-acquaint myself with distance walking and, eventually, running.  I get one minute to sit, stretch my back, and test my legs to make sure I can continue walking.  I did the same thing yesterday and only made 2 laps, and I totally forgot to time it, so I decided today was the time to post results. 

Alright, so the math.  1.2 miles in 20:12.63 equates to 3.56 miles per hour (5.73 k/h).  Now, considering that the average human walking speed is approximately 3 mph, I guess I shouldn’t be too upset.  After all, I made it faster than the average human, right?  Considering that about 13 years ago I made the mile run in 6 minutes and 14 seconds, and 10 years ago did the 1.5 mile in 10.2 minutes, yeah, I’m a little bummed by this number.  From 9-10 miles per hour to three and a half?  I feel even heavier now. 

I know there are some factors working against me.  One, I weigh in 100 pounds heavier now than I did when I made that six-minute-mile.  Two, I made that run back when I averaged five to seven miles bicycle time on graded and mountainous terrain a day.  My first job was a 3-mile bike ride away!  Granted, I wore out my legs trying to push it into 10th gear doing it, but I had no problems making that ride if I didn’t push it too hard.  Third, I haven’t tried taking on a regular physical regiment in years.  I can’t expect to be pushing numbers like I used to right off the bat.  I’d kill myself trying!  Do I need to push myself to keep up a quickened pace?  Yes.  Was I trying to keep up a quickened pace?  You bet!  Did I succeed?  . . .  Can I not answer that today?  I can’t skip it?  Fine…   Now is as good a time as any to say that the walk is about 10% soft grasses and broken pavements and is by no means flat.  I made the first 3/5 mile rather painlessly.  Turning to make the last pavement walk to end lap 2 left my back burning, as well as my thighs, and I found myself slowing slightly and breaking pace.  I never stopped but I did slow to an actual walk instead of the power-walk I was trying to maintain.  At the end of lap two, I took my pit stop.  Sixty seconds to sit, stretch, and re-focus.  I managed to stretch the worst of the pain away, so I decided to go for the last third of a lap.  Technically I didn’t have a choice because my self-made rules state that a pit stop means I’m making at least one more lap, but I like to think that I chose to keep moving.  The ache and burning sensations didn’t quite end, but I decided I was going to finish the walk NO MATTER WHAT!  And I did!  🙂  I even threw in a few short bursts of speed with heavy, unresponsive legs because I felt like I was falling behind my goal.  I managed to finish faster than the 21 minutes I had anticipated, but not by much.

Now that that’s all out of the way, I can honestly say that I want to get myself down to a 12-minute mile WITHOUT a pit stop.  That means a 14 minute 24 second 3-laps.  In order to do that, I need to get moving fast enough to maintain that speed.  Can I do it?  I think so.  It’ll take some time, but I’ll make it happen.

Alright, moving on to No Way Back.  There are a million things that have prevented me from doing the writing I’ve needed to do.  The biggen is the wall o’text you just went through about my heavy lupine arse.  Another big issue was my change in schedule.  I usually do most of my actual writing at work once I’m alone, but I’m working day-shift.  It doesn’t leave a lot of typing time.  That’ll change come Nov. 7 when I switch to my early shift.  Then there’s family time (my Kikat’s and my anniversary was last Thursday, 4 years!), financial stress and stress in general, and you have a very busy, non-writing-conducive atmosphere.

Then you have my World of Warcraft play… 

Anyway, I AM working on it.  Want some proof?  Okay, here’s a snippet:

“Calm down, human.” The mephit begins walking towards me with a slow, purposeful gait, her tail drifting in the air behind her. “C-6 is a secured containment for counseling and for high level detainees. It runs a signal through your walls to ensure that any listening devices are blocked and can’t transmit.” Her smile becomes obvious as she stops next to the bed. “It also can’t be opened unless I unlock it. I’d suggest not hurting me. Mind if I sit down?” I shake my head and slide closer to the wall, pulling my knees up to my chest and freeing up a large area of the bed for her to sit. She turns around and lifts her tail above the padding, then lets it fall as she sits. The movement reminds me of a little girl making sure that she didn’t sit on her dress. I chuckle at the image and she looks at me with a confused smile. “What?”

“Nothing.” I look back down at my knees. “Why are you here?”

“I told you why, Robert. You’re not in the right state of mind to be–”

“Of course I’m not in the right state of mind!” I take in a deep breath and let it go so I don’t yell at her again. “Dharcia, you don’t get it. I was in love with Allessa. I mean, her. That… That…”

“Alien?”

So you see?  It’s there!  🙂  It’s started!  It IS being worked on!  I just need to get it done.  I swear, I haven’t forgotten.  It’s still in its unedited, rough form, so it may change before I actually post it. 

BE WELL!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Heavy Wulf

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “One Heavy Wulf – 29 Oct 2010 (And proof that No Way Back isn’t dead…)”

  1. Vickie Says:

    I’m really sorry to post this here but I’m having certain problems with Linkreferral. I posted this – ‘None of these comments have anything to do with me or my site… very confusing..’ after reading ‘your’ review. I then received an e-mail again and the review had changed to reflect my site… weird… I dunno if this is something to do with you but just ignore that comment… my brain is heavily confused now. xD

    Thanks for the nice comments about my site though, they were certainly… original… xD

    • The Lone Wulf Says:

      I try to always be original! 🙂 That and never be false, because I do believe karma bites us all in the arse once in a while. I tried to change my comments, too, to reflect that I did get your message. The truth is, I was in the middle of looking at another site and I must have scrolled my listing up and thought it was the same blog. That whole mess has been fixed, though. Took me 20 minutes of surfing to find the blog it was supposed to go to, and then I did your site. =^_^= I am glad I got the message, though, because I do like your reviews.

      • Vickie Says:

        I wasn’t expecting to get a reply… don’t know why… can I randomly advertise toysoldiersunite.com – there’s some very creative people there and I think you might like it! xD

      • The Lone Wulf Says:

        I don’t know that I entirely understand what it’s supposed to be. Perhaps you’d like to offer a bit of insight? I’ve looked it over and all I can gather is that it’s an army of people who want to play?

  2. Vickie Says:

    Officially it’s a large group of people from across the globe who are united in the support of Doctor Steel who is looking to make the world a better place through fun, creativity and imagination. Also through this he plans to become world emperor. He is also a musician and artist. Unofficially it’s an excuse for tens of thousands of people across the world to go around and have fun, meet new and insane friends and, more often than not, especially on invasions (where we gather in one place and try to “brainwash” – we call ourselves brainwashed as a satirical nod to other leaders who aim for world domination – as many people around there as possible), an excuse to have a drink with many interesting and insane friends.

    Pete (my boyfriend) wrote this, not me. I’m useless at it. xD


  3. Love your site man keep up the good work


Leave a Reply

