RToD: World of Warcraft’s Latest Patch Delays

I can smell the Nerd Rage already…

Blizzard is updating World of Warcraft with their patch 4.0.1 today.  What does that mean for you non-WoW players?  Nothing unless you are in the trollin’ mood.  See, the realms were supposed to be up 2 1/2 hours ago.  They are still down.  Not some of them, ALL of them.  That’s going to leave a lot of WoW-heads pretty torqued when they go to log into their beloved Warcraft to find that there’s nothing available to them.  Me, I’m generally unconcerned.  Why, you might ask?  Simple!  I’m at work.  When I leave work, it’ll take me at least a half-hour to get home.  That means Blizzard’s got about 2 1/2 hours to get it running.  You hear that Blizzard?  j/k 

There’s going to be some serious changes coming up here.  This is the first in a larger series of updated that are being done.  The idea is to get the games ready for the release of Cataclysm, which is good because I remember when I first installed World of Warcraft onto my laptop.  It took me (no lie) over 12 hours to download the game and all of the appropriate updates.  Okay, so I have DSL that tops out at 1.5Mbps, but still!  That’s a lot of downloading. When the game is released, as long as you have your background downloader turned on, you won’t see any real big delays in gametime on Dec. 7, 2010 when Cataclysm is released because you’ll already be ready!  You’ll see the Worgen and the Goblins running around fine.  (And, really, people, what’s the big deal with the female Worgen displays on the interwebz?)  The changes that we’re going to see now are the class mechanics changes, the dropping of some stats, the addition of the newest stat, and the ability to reforge your weapons.  No new classes or races.  You’ll have to wait until December for that.

Either way, I’m actually pretty nervous about this whole change-up.  I play a hunter, meaning my class is getting the heaviest changes this time ’round.  The play is changing from mana to focus.  I use-ta-could drink a potion if I ran low.  Now it’s “Wait X seconds until you gain focus or use specific shots to get it back.”  Plus the changes to talent trees (all around, not just hunters) and the loss of my favorite AoE (Area of Effect) attack makes me VERY nervous.  We’ll see what happens. 

Anywho, my time at work is almost at an end.  Hopefully Blizzard’s fixed it…

Explore posts in the same categories: The Random Thought of the Day

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

