That’s One Heavy Wulf…

Today is another break from the chapter posting.  I know, I know, it’s late.  Unless I start getting paid for it, which isn’t likely, it gets to be of lower priority to something that I need to start taking more care of and paying more attention to.  What is this mysterious thing, you might ask? 

My weight.

I’d generally been ignoring it.  Ignoring it is the wrong way to put it.  Not giving it as much precedence as I should have.  Ten years ago, I joined the U.S. Navy and weighed in at 175 pounds (79.378kg).  At 5’11” (1.8m), I looked pretty good.  Very good, in fact.  At the time, I didn’t realize just how good I looked, but now I’m getting narcissistic. 

After my discharge, I lost some weight, then gained some, and lost some, until I balanced out at about 210 lbs (95.254kg).  With my bone structure, even that looked good on me, although I was medically “obese” at that weight.  Yeah, screw the medical-crap.  Anyway, I kept that weight because I was able to eat on a regular basis as well as being constantly on the move.  When you work as an assistant manager of a convenience store, odds are you’ll be moving a lot.  And lifting a lot.  Both are things that I just don’t really do anymore. 

Anyways, fast-forward 6 years and I’ve landed a job that allows me to sit most of the day.  At least it does now.  Unfortunately, it’s made me rather sedentary.  Couple that with a non-adjustment for that lack of movement and I’ve gained some weight.  I’m embarrassed to say that I now weigh in at 272 lbs (123.37kg) according to my last weigh-in using Wii Fit.  (Although that may not be entirely accurate because my weight changed by almost a pound and a half in ten minutes of me moving around.)  I’m less than happy with that number and have decided to start working to make it better.  the easiest thing to do is to add more movement to my life, obviously.  No more simply sitting around all day.  I need to get up, get out, and get moving more often.  (as if I needed yet another reason to slow down my writing…  >.<)  For the past two weeks, I’ve taken the time to start walking more, although not as much as I should be.  I’ve not weighed myself in almost two weeks now, so I’m hoping to see the beginning of a change from simply burning calories. 

I’m not foolish enough to think that I’m going to get rid of this weight overnight.  It took me ten years to gain almost 100 lbs.  Right now, I’d be happy to lose about 60 and get myself back to a far better weight.  Time will tell.  Wish me luck!  And any tips will be appreciated.

Time to take another walk, though.  Maybe I should bring my Zune with me this time…

EDIT: And I should probably pack my sneakers, too.  At least until I can toughen my paw-pads again…

Explore posts in the same categories: Heavy Wulf, The Random Thought of the Day

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

