RTOD 29MAR2009 – Sketchy-Sketchy!

RTOD 29MAR2009 – Sketchy-Sketchy!

As some of you may know, my odometer rolled over 10 days ago, and I turned 27.  Yep.  I’m getting older.  So are you, so don’t laugh.  >:D

Anyway, I am not quite sure what triggered it, but something suddenly re-activated my interest in art.  A very select few (before today) know that I actually enjoy sketching.  When I was much younger, I did crayon and colored pencil drawings.  Being about 7-8, they rarely turned out great, but I had fun.  In high school, I did geometrics, some abstract and impressionistic sketchs in pencil, but never anything major.  Later, I’d do ink artwork, taking a standard ballpoint pen and creating interesting pieces of side-art, nothing big or fancy, but interesting little tidbits.  My peak hit when I was working for RMH, Incorporated, where I would draw out my frustrations dealing with ignorant @$$holes.  I drew things like an F-14 launching a missile, and a telephone that would explode if hanging up too roughly, even a script for people talking to telemarketers on a mainframe terminal!  I drew some weird things, and occasionally did geometrical artwork.  Then, just as soon as my artwork started, it stopped.  Why?  Well, I was with a succubus and didn’t know it.  Had no interest in the artwork, and, in fact, made me feel bad about it, so I stopped. 

Fast-forward to about a month and a half ago, and I suddenly get the urge to draw again.  I mean, REALLY draw.  So, I started.  Little things, mostly mini-geometrics, but nothing worth keeping.  then, I started drawing more detailed little things.  Still nothing worth noting.  Then, I get the urge to try something bigger.  So, I start sketches of smaller goals.  Then, I’d try slightly bigger ones.  Then, I start putting them together, and they get even bigger.  That’s when I decide that, if I really want to do this, I should set a good graphite set. 

Well, what do you know, my birthday rolls up!  So, what do I ask for?  Games?  Movies?  Other various digital entertainment?  No, a sketch set!   Woo-hoo!  And I got one!  Woot!

So, here I am, “working,” and I put together all the pieces of my biggest sketch project I’ve ever undertaken!  And, then, through some miracle of the art world, I finished the completed rough sketch!  YAY! 

I needed to share with someone, and I realized that I hadn’t done a Random Thought in a while, so what better place to do it than with the one or two of you who cares to read it!    It’s not finished completely, I have to do the clean draw of it, which will take me some time.  But I’m ecstatic about it, I’ve only got the clean draw to do!  This is the first time I’ve ever felt I’ve done good enough on ANYTHING to make a clean draw!  Depending on how the clean draw goes, it may find its way here, but no promises. 

And, no, don’t ask, I’m not going to show it to anyone until it’s DONE! 

Explore posts in the same categories: The Random Thought of the Day

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

