RTOD 20APR2008: Departure of Friends (Term Used Loosely)

RTOD 20APR2008:  Departure of Friends (Term Used Loosely)

I have a friend who left yesterday to go join the trucking crew.  He’s a good guy.  We had a lot of fun together.  I wish him the best of luck with his new career.  I picked him up from his house and took him to the bus stop so he could make the trip to another state.  I would have seen him off, but unfortunately he (apparently) missed the bus he was supposed to be slated for and had to catch a later departure.  Meaning I didn’t get to see him off.  It really sucked.  But, life goes on. 

Before that I had another friend who left to join the Army.  Although I didn’t see him as much, it still sucked, because he was one of those cool guys that you could hang out with and he would help try to make sure you didn’t overshoot your limits.  I didn’t get to see him off either.  That sucked too.  Again, life goes on. 

Today, my xBox360 gave me the RROD.  For those of you not familliar with it, that is the Red Ring of Death, and with three lights out of four it means that something got royally screwed under the hood.  With my buddies gone, and my wife and I working opposite shifts, it was almost like a friend to me.  And now, it’s gone (to Washington).  Sniff…. 

Okay, that was semi-pathetic.  But, it’s not too far from the truth.  For gamers and shut-ins, their consoles or PC’s become like friends.  Someone you can scream at during the bad days and someone to have fun with when you want to.  Since I am a gamer, it is kinda bummer-ish to have to send it in.  Luckily for me, it should only be a few weeks before it’s returned. 

And for people mad that I am not posting more often, I’m sorry, I’ve had some serious writer’s block!

Explore posts in the same categories: The Random Thought of the Day

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

